Thorpe Music Publishing Company -
Home Choral Music Vocal Music Organ Music Piano Music To Order Contact Us
Organ Music of James Woodman

All Creatures of Our God and King - View Sample Pages
Five Meditations on "Lasst uns erfreuen," based on the Canticle of the Sun of St. Francis of Assisi. 1. Sister Moon; 2. Brother Sun; 3. Mother Earth; 4. All of Tender Heart; 5. Alleluia / 11:00 / 493-00088

Fairest Lord Jesus - View Sample Pages
Similar to Woodman’s highly successful Six Little Partitas based on classic hymn tunes, these new variations on the beloved tune St. Elizabeth expand the repertoire for small instruments with one or two manuals and optional pedal. / 6:30 / 493-00066

For All the Saints - Music for Funerals and Memorial Services
Twenty single-page pieces for organ manuals with optional pedal based on the much-loved hymns "O God, our help in ages past," "Abide with me," "The strife is o'er," "Amazing grace," "The King of love my shepherd is," and "For all the saints." Each hymn is presented as an improvisation, a prelude, and a chorale. / Combined duration 25 minutes / 493-00097

In dulci jubilo (Four Variations) - View Sample Pages
Premiered for a standing-room-only concert audience at Boston's historic Trinity Church, these variations on the classic Latin Christmas hymn are intended primarily for use by church organists. The first three variations may be regarded as a single prelude, and the last as an ebullient postlude. / 6:30 / 493-00067

Partita on "Spanish Hymn" - View Sample Pages
Seven variations on the familiar hymn "Come, Christians, join to sing" or "Savior, when in dust to thee." In hymnals of the Roman Catholic, Methodist, Episcopal, and Presbyterian churches, the tune is sometimes known as "Madrid" or "Spanish Chant." / 8:30 / 493-00089

For Organ Manuals with Optional Pedal

Six Little Partitas, Book I - View Sample Pages
Music for Advent, Christmas, and Epiphany, based on the classic tunes "O come, O come, Emmanuel," "Lo, how a Rose e’er blooming," and "How brightly shines the morning star." / Durations range from 4:30 to 5:30 / 493-00054

Six Little Partitas, Book II - View Sample Pages
Music for Lent, Easter, and Pentecost, based on the hymn tunes "Forty days and forty nights," "At the Lamb's high feast we sing," and "Come, Holy Ghost, our souls inspire." / Durations range from 2:30 to 4:30 / 493-00055

REVIEWS: "These amazing creations, designed for minimal registration, speak as eloquently to the art of organ music as any elaborate music anywhere. They epitomize my goals of service literature which transcends its original material and which transforms its auditors." —Journal of the Association of Anglican Musicians

"...subtle and masterful use of texture and imaginative harmony...advanced players could sight-read much of these works — however this does not lessen the charm and interest that abounds in them...These works are a welcome and highly useful addition to the repertoire." —The Sydney Organ Journal (Australia)

"...there is an imaginative and economical use of material in building up the variations. These short works provide for a wide variety of use in services, and would not be out of place in a recital programme as a gentle foil for larger pieces; furthermore, with the optional pedal they make good early teaching pieces, as well as useful studies in compositional techniques." —Choir & Organ (London)

"These pieces are highly suitable for liturgical use...Although quite easy to play, these partitas nevertheless offer a wealth of stylistic diversity, development and musical interest." —Sacred Music

James Woodman
James Woodman

New for the
2014 AGO Boston Convention

Eight Little Harmonies and Counterpoints
This excellent new set of teaching pieces for organ was inspired by the famous Eight Little Preludes and Fugues and was commissioned for the 2014 American Guild of Organists National Convention in Boston where it was premiered by eight high school students.
No. 493-00108 BUY
Basilica Triptych
For Organ & Flute
1. Ave Maria / 2. Stabat Mater
/ 3. Salve Regina
No. 494-02963

The Kings' Carol
For SATB & Organ with optional alto and baritone solos.
A new setting of the famous Hopkins text "We three kings of Orient are"
No. 392-03101


Thorpe Music Publishing Company - Email
Sole selling agent: Theodore Presser Company - 588 North Gulph Road, King of Prussia, PA 19406, USA
Telephone 1-800-854-6764, Option 1 / Fax 1-888-525-3636 or Telephone 610-592-1222, Ext.1 / Fax 610-592-1229
Prices are subject to change. © Copyright 2007, 2014 by Thorpe Music Publishing Company